Township Hall
20260 Capital Avenue N.E.
Battle Creek, MI 49017
(269) 968-8549

  |  Register
Board and Committee Opportunities

Aside from elected Boards, other board members are appointed by the Township Supervisor and approved by the Township Board.  There are other Ad-hoc committees, and special commissions that are created from time to time with citizen members. 

Pennfield residents interested in serving on any of the appointed Boards or Commissions are encouraged to fill out an application (click on application for form).  Return the completed application to the address listed, attention to the Supervisor's office.  

All current board members as well as residents of Pennfield Charter Township must apply in order to be considered for an appointment or re-appointment.

Board of Review      (3) Members

Albertine Bechtol      12/31/2019 
Ron Flesch     12/31/2019
Sandy Jones     12/31/2019

Three members appointed by the township board. Board of review members must be electors (residents) (MCL 211.28). At least 2/3 of the members shall be property taxpayers of the township. (*Michigan Election Law (MCL 168.342) requires all members to be taxpayers. State Tax Commission says that is not necessary. MTA Legal Counsel suggest taking a prudent approach.)

A member of the township board may not serve on the board of review or fill any vacancy. 

A spouse, mother, father, sister, brother, son or daughter, including an adopted child, of the assessor is not eligible to serve on the board or fill any vacancy.

Planning Commission      (7) Members

Jon Bartlett    Chairperson    12/31/2018   
J.R. Walter    Planning Member    12/31/2017  
Curtis Whitaker     Planning Member    12/31/2017  
Paul Anderson    Vice Chair    12/31/2018  
Brad Messenger    Secretary    12/31/2018  
Jack Pooler    Planning Member    12/31/2019  
Tammi Damerow    TWP. Board Member    11/20/2020  

7 members, who must be representative of important segments of the community, such as the economic, governmental, educational, and social development of the local unit of government, in accordance with the major interests as they exist in the local unit of government, such as agriculture, natural resources, recreation, education, public health, government, transportation, industry, and commerce. The membership must also be representative of the entire geography of the local unit of government to the extent practicable.

Members of a planning commission must be qualified electors of the township, except one planning commission member may be individual who is not a qualified elector. (To be a qualified elector, a person must be 18 years of age, a U.S. citizen, and have lived in the township at least 30 days. Property ownership is NOT required).

One member of the township board shall be an ex officie member of the planning commission.


Zoning Board of Appeals     (5) Members    (1) Alternate

Chuck Adams    Secretary     12/31/2017 
 Lindsay Draime    Alternate   12/31/2017
 Curtis Whitaker    Vice Chair   12/31/2017
 Maryann Herbstreith    Chairperson   12/31/2018
 Cathy Skelding    Appeals Board   12/31/2019
 Tony Goodman    TWP. Board Member   11/20/2020


One regular member may be a member of the township board, but a township board member cannot serve as the chairperson of the ZBA.

The remaining members shall be selected from the electors of the township residing outside of incorporated cities and villages. Members shall be representative of population distribution and of the various interests present in the township.

An employee or contractor of the township board may not serve as a member.

The terms of office for members appointed to the zoning board of appeals shall be for 3 years, except for members serving because of their membership on the zoning commission or legislative body, whose terms shall be limited to the time they are members of those bodies. When members are first appointed, appointments may be for less than 3 years to provide for staggered terms.